Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Parked in disabled bay in Leeds
FightBack Forums > Queries > Council Tickets & Clamping and Decriminalised Notices
RK0000
Hi,

Newbie here. Parked in a Council car park in Leeds the other week, plenty of available bays so I picked one at random. Turns out this was a disabled bay, marked by a circular sign set back a bit from the bay.

Photo here...

I was in the left hand bay on this pic, note the sign.

I appealed initially on the basis that disabled bays are usually more clearly marked on the ground. It is an accident of design of the car park that this particular bay is slightly wider than the others but the paint marks on the ground are identical to all of the adjacent bays, and, as you can see, there is no wheelchair logo in that bay (why on earth not?!). My appeal has (inevitably) been turned down so I'm wondering what to do next.

I can see the logic in that bay being made available for disabled users, but what I didn't see was the sign because it is set back and nothing like any of the normal disabled signage I'm used to. There's no way on earth would I deliberately park in a disabled bay and there were at least 10 other free bays in the car park, yet here I am feeling criminalised for not seeing their non-standard signage.

I've asked for clarification as to which bays the sign refers, as the right hand bay in the photo is of equal size to the left. If that one isn't also designated disabled then its even more confusing.

Under normal circumstances after one appeal I'd normally pay but this one has really got me angry. You know when you try to do right and good by everyone then still get penalised? Well, that.

Any help or advice much appreciated. Like many others, I appreciate the incredible work you do on this site.
DancingDad
Best to post up the PCN and any other evidence you have, pics of the Car park entry sign would be useful, especially any terms relating to disabled bays.