Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Traffic Stop from across the pond
FightBack Forums > Discussion > The Flame Pit
chris_NE
Hello chaps,

I'm a British expat resident in New England. Thought I would share with you my traffic stop this morning. Apparently according to the paramilitary state troopers here, idling at 50mph in the third lane is absolutely fine.

Have a watch and listen for yourselves. You don't really appreciate how good British traffic cops are, until you experience the ignorance on display out here. This is a state where undertaking is perfectly legal, where changing lanes when appropriate is considered 'dangerous driving'. You are expected and taught to essentially keep to a lane. Least there's no speed cameras here I guess.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/w07fsg29p7ae399/2...2_I-95.mp4?dl=0
StuartBu
At least you didn't get shot... what did you get?
chris_NE
QUOTE (StuartBu @ Thu, 22 Jan 2015 - 21:23) *
At least you didn't get shot... what did you get?

Nothing. The cop just wanted to tell me off. I wish I had pointed out that he himself was breaking the law by admitting to going 60 in a 55. But, cops are generally exempt from traffic laws here it seems. It's a disgrace.
Unzippy
QUOTE (StuartBu @ Thu, 22 Jan 2015 - 20:23) *
At least you didn't get shot...

+1
xpatbritinusa
Go USA hahaha

This motorcyclist got charged with felony wiretapping for videoing his traffic stop:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RK5bMSyJCsg

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anthony_Graber

typefish
If anything it's the police officer who should be told off/citated for dangerous driving/DWDCA for uh, changing lanes when not allowed to!

(look at him, changing over on the solid lines)
xpatbritinusa
Well here in NJ the state troopers on the Interstates just drive however they want (i.e drive it like you stole it) and are seemingly unaccountable. So speeding, cutting across all lanes, cutting people up at off ramps, not using lights etc, are all par for the course.
Glitch