Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: avoid capture
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
Pages: 1, 2
abbot
right so im a young electrician guy and ive only went and got caught on the phone while driving. i have 9 points already. I am now facing the dreaded totting band.
My first move against this is to launch this thread, seeing if i have a case against the ban on grounds of "exceptional hardship"

first three offences are sp30s.
I drive all over the country (scotland). A typical week will involve trips oban,inverness berwick, basically anywhere. So it goes without saying that getting the 6 month ban will result in loss of job.

Can i apply for "exceptional hardship" based on negative effects on health?
3 years ago i got diagnosed with MS. its a complicated disease, where stress has actually been proven to worsen the condition. so there is a slight worry rolling around my skull at this time.

Do you think its a good idea to lawyer up? Or should i go it alone, seige mentality

Hellfire8
If you're pleading guilty, it is doubtful a lawyer can help you really.

Exceptional Hardship is aimed at others rather than yourself, ie you care for your mother, take your mother to hospital etc. You're suppose to find hardship from the ban, that's the whole point of it. It is a punishment.
AFCNEAL
The exceptional hardship approach is based upon EH to others (i.e not to you....that's punishment). So losing your job doesn't matter much, it would be the effect on children, elderly relatives etc etc. I know little about MS but don't see the relationship between it and an EH argument (otherwise yourun the risk of saying anyone will an ailment can ignore the law?).