Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Code 19 PCN issued on paperless permit
FightBack Forums > Queries > Council Parking Tickets & Clamping and Decriminalised Notices
gravamen11
Hello there,

First post, and thanks for any help you can give. Reading the forum has already been very useful.

I'm an Islington resident, one of the "paperless" boroughs, and unbeknownst to me, my residents permit expired last month (September 2014). I was unaware of this, as there is no physical permit in the windscreen with the date to remind you. The enforcement officers scan your reg number and find out that way. Nor was a letter sent. More on this later.

Three PCNs on my car drew my attention to it. All coded 19. "Parked in a residents or shared use parking place or zone either displaying an invalid permit or voucher or pay and display ticket, or after the expiry of the paid for time."

My car was displaying nothing, as they're electronic permits. Or does "after the expiry of the paid for time" cover it? Is it worth challenging on the basis that contravention didn't occur? If it's the wrong code will they just bump me to a different one after the fact?

I didn't receive a reminder letter, though during a phonecall yesterday (28/10/14) to pay for the new permit, I was told a letter had been sent in September. This (non arriving letter) seems to be a courtesy, as on their website Islington state "It is your responsibility to renew your permit before it expires. The council takes no responsibility to provide reminders."

(Un)Fair enough. However, elsewhere on their website, (my account section, can't link to it, but screen grab attached) to renew your permit, you need to enter a permit account number and are told that "this number can be found on your permit renewal letter"