Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 2 NIPs in 1 week - help!
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
pb72
Noob here so please be gentle.

Looking for some advice - have had a clean licence for about 5 years, but got a NIP a couple of weeks back for doing 53 in a 40. I have been doing the same journey home for 20 years and never had a ticket here (turns out they 'upgraded a traffic light camera to light + speed in 2010), but recently got a NIP - sent to wife as was driving her car at the time. Returned the form dobbing me in hoping to get a Speed Awareness Course option given good recent record. This didn't happen, I got a 3 point +£100 offer.

Unfortunately, while that was going on I received a SECOND NIP (again, via the wife) for 55 at the SAME 40 light (they say lightning never strikes twice?) - this is before I had a chance to figure out where I had transgressed the first time. I have not yet returned this form, but had the following questions:

1) Can I REQUEST a SAC for the 1st offence, or does it have to be offered?
2) Will the second offence be treated more severely now as it is so close to the first, or should I send the 2nd back straight away before the first points hit my licence and get maybe a second 3 point + £100 offer?
3) Will any old (10 years ago) offences be borne in mind or will they treat these 2 as new versus a clean licence?
4) Any other advice?

I feel like an idiot, but want to limit the damage here so any advice gratefully received.

Thanks in advance.

PB72
BaggieBoy
If no SAC was offered then you aren't going to get one now. The second offence will be treated on its own merits and will get another 3 points and £100.
AFCNEAL
As above. The SAC is offered if eligible - if you've already paid the fine/sent licence you have accepted the FPN offer and it's closed. The 2nd at higher speed won't get an SAC offer anyway it's a further 3 points and another £100..........