Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Wrong class of insurance 6 points/£300 fine
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Scottgar
Hi there,

I have read a few topics here about people in a similar situation but thought I would detail my case do I can get tailored advice to my dilemma.

I only passed my driving test in January 2013. I am self employed performer and I am a 2nd name driver on my insurance policy which is with ecar insurance (zenith insurance is the underwriter)

I was driving back from a show last night and traffic cops pulled me over. The driver asked where I was coming from and I explained I was coming home from work. As I had a large PA system on the back of my car. He said he had stopped my for a routine breath test and asked if I had been drinking to which I replied absolutely not! He then said I can smell alcohol. I took the test and got a reading of zero.

He then asked me did I have business insurance and I said no. He then said what is your policy for and I replied it was social, domestic and pleasure. He said so you don't have insurance? I was very confused at this point as I genuinely never realised I needed business insurance on my vehicle. I know that ignorance is not a defence but I genuinely had no idea. He then continued on to give me a lecture about using the car for work and having the policy I have means iam driving with no insurance.

He then issued me with a £300 fine and 6 points. I came home and read all the fine print on my policy and I am actually not covered for commuting to work!!! I never knew this. I just assumed that I would have been.

Some of my friends parents are police and I have had different advice one said I should appeal let it go to court and tell them the truth that I never realised that I needed business insurance. I was none the wiser that my policy doesn't even cover me