Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: NIP--Reminder (oriniginal NIP not received)
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
crashbang
1. England
2. metropolitan police
3. 5th Oct 2005.
4.date of NIP -Reminder 8th Nov 2005.(This is the first correspondence I have received although it says NIP-Reminder)
5. NIP-Reminder received 11th Nov 2005
6. Yes
7. NIP-Reminder sent 2nd Class.
8.Yes
9. U.K.
11.  I have no knowledge of the alleged offence.The NIP-Reminder states that proceedings contemplated. Does not list offence only the whereabouts and time.

It is apparent that I have been sent a NIP which I did not receive.  I have received an NIP-Reminder which is more than 14 days since the alleged offence and the reminder was sent 2nd class.  The reminder states that I need to furnish info of driver within 28 days.  
However I don't know what the alleged offence was(NIP-Reminder does not state alleged offence) and don't know who was driving that day without seeing evidence.
What do I do next? Do I ask for a copy of original NIP?  Are the police out of time regardless of alleged offence since I did not receive original NIP?
What shoulld I say in my letter?
Please help !!!
Crashbang
icon_twisted.gif
firefly
Hi crashbang,

A good place to start is this thread.  Once you've digested that then you'll be in a better position to consider your next move.

Post back once you have.
crashbang
Hi Firefly
Very good and informative thread/link, thank you, but it has raised some questions and I'm a bit confused.
1. I THINK that the form I have been sent is a NIP as it says
"NIP-Reminder"
it says that failure to respond to this form will render me liable to prosecution and the parts to fill out are on the reverse of this form.  
Is this an official NIP or just a reminder letter?
However this NIP-Reminder does not state what the alleged offence was.

2. Why does it not state what the alleged offence was.