Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: DVLA - SORN Notice
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
downes86
Hi,

This is my first time posting on this site and I would be really grateful for some advice. The situation is as follows and my Step Dad is extremely shocked and worried about this as he has always abided by the law and done everything by the book:

As a retired builder, his van has been sitting on the drive gathering dust for about 2 years now. He had declared it as SORN as he was not using it and had now decided to sell it. To do that, he had to get an MOT on the van in order to be able to get the car back on the road, taxed and insured.

He called his local mechanic and they confirmed that they were permitted to collect the van from the drive and carry out the MOT on it. My Step Dad collected the mechanic from the garage at approximately 13:15 on 17.09.13 in order that he could drive the van to his garage for its scheduled MOT as he is insured to drive any vehicle, being a mechanic and that it is legally allowed for a car to be on the road when on a SORN notice to allow the MOT to be carried out. Approximately 20 minutes later (13:36), my Step Dad received a phone call from the receptionist, informing him that the van was about to be clamped, so he immediately drove around to see what was happening.

It transpires that when the mechanic got to the garage, he got out of the van to see where the current car being MOT’d was up to, and within that time frame, a man had pulled up, got out of his car and was holding a clamp in his hand ready to clamp the van.