Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Insurance (or lack of it)
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
norris
Hi,

We've Just returned from honeymoon in Scotland... a drive of 400+ miles which we travelled in my wifes car.

We returned to a letter from my wifes insurance company stating her insurance expired on the 20th (Im a named driver on her insurance)
She was aware that the insurance was due, but thought it expired on the 22nd (!) and she spoke to her insurers the week before last to say that she would be renewing but as we were on honeymoon she would sort the details when we returned...

Ive checked the MID and the car is indeed showing as uninsured, so given the fact that we've travelled over 400 miles past god knows how many ANPR cameras there is a good chance that somewhere along the line our reg has been flagged up as "uninsured".

So... a few of questions really.
I would assume that when a camera picks up the reg number, the process starts which results in a letter asking us to state who was driving and prove we were insured?

How up to date is the Police database? Is it a direct link to the MID? I seem to recall something about the police updating their records every 14 days, in which case is there a chance that as far as their records show its still insured? I may be completely wrong on this though...
We passed a number of Police vehicles on the way, and no attempt was made to stop us. Does this mean anything?

Assuming the worst, and we get the letter we dread, am I right in thinking that If I had been driving then there would not only be a prosecution against me for no insurance, but also against her for allowing her car to be used? But if it was her driving then just her in the frame?

Long shot this I suppose... I'm aware that there are no "days grace" with insurance, but as she had spoken to them and told them she intended to renew, will they "back date" the insurance so we can prove cover?

The Rookie