Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Advise please - POPLA appeal
FightBack Forums > Queries > Private Parking Tickets & Clamping
Goldfish33
This is my first time to use this forum. I hope I am putting enough information to get any advice.

The history of events.
- The driver overparked at a retail car park in May, where the max was 3 hrs, which I hadn't known.
- Received a Charge Notice from TPS in June.
- Replied to them using a template letter I found from parkingcowboys website (PCN complaint version v 2-1)
- Received another Charge Notice a couple of weeks ago (almost identical to the 1st one except for removing the wording of 'FINAL REMINDER - LEGAL ACTION PENDING on top)
- Received a reply from TPS rejecting my representation, together with a POPLA form.

I am ready to do the POPLA appeal, but my husband is worried, in case this should go to debt collecting agenty, as we are supposed to remortgate our house later this year.

I would appreciate if somebody can let me know whether there is a chance that a debt collecting agency may be involved and what I should do in this situation.
I am hoping that I can get some help from this forum later on the POPLA appeal, though.

Many thanks in advance.
I look forward to any advice.

Goldfish33
ManxRed
A Debt Collection Agency has no powers at all to influence a credit rating, and hence cannot possibly influence a mortgage application.

Only (a) a company with which you've entered into some kind of credit/loan arrangement or (b) a company which takes you to court to establish a debt, wins, and then you still refuse to pay can influence your credit rating.

A Debt Collector isn't (a) and can't be (b) as they are a third party agent so cannot take action against you. Besides, you'd know if someone took you to court and you lost. AND you could still pay the judgement.

Appeal to POPLA, you have nothing to lose.
Broadsword
QUOTE (Goldfish33 @ Mon, 22 Jul 2013 - 14:15) *