Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Long vehicle vs red light camera
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
jacob30
Hi.
I'm a driver of bendy bus. My vehicle is 18m long. I'm always reduce my speed before lights when approaching on late green. Usually doing 20 mph, however sometimes I'm only a few meters from line when lights change to amber. I can put foot on brake but as effect of that some of my passengers may fell on the floor. If i carry on about half of the bus passing line and other half is behind when lights change to red. Should I be fined when catch by red cam. What do U think about this situation?
Gan
It's a good question
Every bus or coach that I've ridden on has carried on with the light changing to red before the bus has passed the line.

According to my estimate, 20 mph is 9 m/s
Assuming the amber is on for three seconds, you'll just make it if you're within 9 m of the line when it changes

If the red cameras don't activate until the red has been on for two seconds you can probably stretch it by another 9m (wouldn't risk 18m) and assume that most of the drivers waiting for the green will recognise the bus and not jump the lights

If you're more than 18 m away when they change to amber you should be able to stop without much drama - about 0.23 g

It would make sense if bendy-buses had transponders to stop lights changing when they're within 20m or so
StuartBu
QUOTE (Gan @ Wed, 22 May 2013 - 22:55) *
It's a good question
Every bus or coach that I've ridden on has carried on with the light changing to red before the bus has passed the line.

According to my estimate, 20 mph is 9 m/s
Assuming the amber is on for three seconds, you'll just make it if you're within 9 m of the line when it changes