Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Unusual case of a MS90 discovered after two years
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
vic2013
Hi,
I’m looking for advice and opinions in a rather unusual case of an MS90 (failure to advise the driver of a vehicle) conviction two years ago.

I will do my best to be succinct, but there are a number of strange anomalies surrounding this case, which makes matters a bit complicated. So please bear with me whilst I unfold the events:

I am a taxi driver. I drive around 40,000 miles a year (four times the national average) and I have never had more than 3 points on my licence in any three year period. In fact, during 2012 I believed I had a clean licence.

In January this year, I was caught speeding at 1.30 in the morning, by a policeman with a speed gun, at the bottom of a hill which runs past the local park. I was also breathalysed (negative). Until now, I’ve never seen a speed check in the town after around 11 at night (but that’s another story). I paid the fine, sent my licence to the DVLA and received it back with THREE points on it.

Every three years I have to renew my taxi licence and this happened last month. As part of the renewal process, I had to pay for a CRB check and a DVLA check. So, you can imagine my shock when I got a call, last Friday, to visit the licencing office, where I was informed that, although my driving licence only showed three points, the DVLA check showed that I had accrued NINE points; the extra six points being from an MS90 conviction almost two years ago (which I know nothing about).

However, something did happen at the end of May 2011.