Full Version: [NIP Wizard] Time limit on NIP's
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
Annoyedbythis
NIP Details and Circumstances
What is the name of the Constabulary? -
Date of the offence: - April 2013
Date of the NIP: - 22 days after the offence
Date you received the NIP: - 23 days after the offence
Location of offence (exact location as it appears on the NIP: important): - A386 Alma Road, Plymouth, Devon
Was the NIP addressed to you? - Yes
Was the NIP sent by first class post, second class or recorded delivery? - Not known
If your are not the Registered Keeper, what is your relationship to the vehicle? -
How many current points do you have? - 0
Provide a description of events (if you know what happened) telling us as much about the incident as possible - some things that may seem trivial to you may be important, so don't leave anything out. Please do not post personal details for obvious reasons - I have no knowledge of the offence. I had a Polish man working for me and he used the car at times, (he has returned back to Poland what are my options) I will need to see the physical evidence of this offence.
I have been told the police MUST contact you within two weeks or this NIP is not valid, Is this true?

NIP Wizard Responses
These were the responses used by the Wizard to arrive at its recommendation:
Have you received a NIP? - Yes
Are you the Registered Keeper of the vehicle concerned (is your name and address on the V5/V5C)? - Yes
Did the first NIP arrive within 14 days? - No
Was there a valid reason for the NIP's late arrival? - No

NIP Wizard Recommendation
Based on these responses the Wizard suggested that this course of action should be considered:
  • The first NIP to the Registered Keeper must arrive within 14 days unless there is a valid reason why that was not possible, for example a recent change of details.

This link will take you to the advice provided by the RAC's legal team.