Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Failure to notify I sold my car
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
chrisbarnes1
I received a letter yesterday from a bailiff/debt collection company stating that i owe £705 to client HMTCS Kent. I had no idea as to why i owed that money and to that client. After doing some further research, it turns out the fee is because i failed to turn up to court for a case against the DVLA for failing to notify them that i sold my car back in December 2011.

I actually sent the required slip to them in the post the day after selling the car. So was surprised that this was the issue.

The full back story is this:

I was at university in Kent, and had bought my first car whilst living in Rochester. I graduated from the university, and it was my intention to get a job in London and move to London, and therefore no longer needing the car. I tried to sell my car whilst living in Rochester but with no luck. My tenancy was expiring so i sought a temporary accommodation half way between London and Maidstone - my then current place of work. As i was trying to sell my car, i did not think to change the address it was registered at, as it was to be sold ASAP. I eventually managed to sell the car by placing it on Auto Trader, and subsequently sent the required slip to the DVLA.

I then got a job in London and moved to London in April 2012, and as was no longer driving, had no need to hear from the DVLA.

Move forward a year (17 months since selling my car however), and i receive a letter through my door.