Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: M8 J14-15 63mph in a 50mph
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
DD62
Hi all, Newbie here wondering where I stand with respect to my Fixed Penalty received today.

I was travelling on the M80 Westbound at 50mph (Speed Limit), I joined the M8 at J14 and began to increase speed to 70mph as I assumed (incorrectly) that the limit had increased to the national limit on joining the new motorway. I had increased speed to 63mph when I noticed a sign saying 50mph, at this time I reduced to 50mph using my cruise control remained at 50mph. It was at this point I noticed a police vehicle behind me and didn't think anything of it, they followed me (continuing at 50mph cruise control) until I was stopped between J18 and J19.

I have been given a Notice of Conditional Offer of Fixed Penalty (3 points and £60) for 'Driving at 64MPH on a 50MPH speed limit M8 Westbound J14-J15'

Now, I know I did wrong and the ticket is correct but I was wondering how I would stand if I provide mitigation considering that I made the correction on seeing the limit sign. The officers who charged me did agree with me when I was in the back of their car that I had reduced to 50mph for a considerable time and i was not driving dangerously or recklessly. I believe I had only momentarily inadvertently gone beyond the speed limit but made the necessary correction upon realising my mistake.

Please can anyone advise as I feel I have been harshly dealt with as in my eyes I made an honest mistake.
Jlc
Either pay the fixed penalty or ask the magistrate if he agrees with your assertion.

Annoying that it is, exceeding the limit even for a moment (i.e. overtaking, honest mistake) then the offence is complete.

Pay the FP.
StuartBu
Can't help your query but J14 is Blochairn I think and 18-19 is getting close to approaching the Kingston Bridge ..I was wondering why they waited so long to stop you .
DD62