Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Legality of towing car parked legally
FightBack Forums > Queries > Private Parking Tickets & Clamping
geekman
I've recently moved away to uni, and have brought my car with me. I have no permit to park on campus, and will not be allocated one as I'm staying only a couple of miles from the uni. This isn't really a problem, as there's lots of local roads with no parking restrictions where I'm allowed to park. However, before I arrived, my uni sent out an email telling all students that cars found regularly parking in the local area would be clamped or towed, and apparently they work very closely with the police to facilitate this!
I'm not an expert, but this sounds like a load of crap. Surely if I'm legally parked, and not blocking anyone's drive, the police aren't allowed to go near my car. I've been parking locally for several days and have heard nothing, but before I start doing it regularly I wanted to make sure that, legally, I'm right.
Thanks!
albert2008
sounds like B.S, how do they know the car belongs to a student,

if the uni got mine towed and I was not a student or anything to do with them
there would be hell to pay,
geekman
QUOTE (albert2008 @ Thu, 27 Sep 2012 - 16:47) *
sounds like B.S, how do they know the car belongs to a student,

if the uni got mine towed and I was not a student or anything to do with them
there would be hell to pay,

I have a permit stuck to the windscreen so it would be possible to identify it. It's not a very "student-ish" type of car though, so I'd be surprised if they even thought to check it.
anon45
QUOTE (geekman @ Thu, 27 Sep 2012 - 16:42) *