Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Caught doing 30 in a 20
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
DAZ75
I today was pulled over by a non-traffic officer (waving his speed gun) near a school in an area that has had its speed limit dropped to 20mph over a year ago...

Now i'm not saying i'm been wrongly done to, i do say that i dont use this road on a regular basis and due to my own ignorance thought it was still a 30mph limit which is what i was caught at..

What i am more wanting to know is what are the tolerances, some places i have seen 10% + 6mph or 10% + 9mph which is it...

Also the officer that gave me my ticket was prepared to send me on a Driver Awareness Course after i enquired as its my first time been done by the police in 16yrs of driving, BUT on checking things out he was told to tell me i was not eligable as i was caught in a 20mph area and a DAC is not offered, i want to know why as the officer could not answer this..

Just feels to me i would have been ok if this happened in a 30mph area as i would have been offered the course...

Like i said i dont have any objection to the points and fine, just want to know why one rule for a 30mph area and not a 20mph area...

Logician
The usual level at which action is taken is 10%+2mph, ie 24 mph in a 20mph limit. However there is nothing legally preventing a prosecution at any speed over the limit.

The figures you quote are the previous and current limits for offering a Speed Awareness Course generally used, but there is no right to such a course and if the police decide not to offer one, there is nothing you can do about it, it is at their discretion.
glasgow_bhoy
They take a much tougher stance in 20 areas. They reckon its 20 for a reason and as such they don't want to give so much as an inch.

Up here, they're around all schools, and they'll not hesitate in doing you for 27mph.
Aretnap