Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Caught doing 51mph in a 30 zone
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
dog_seamons
Got caught doing 51 in a 30 (non residential area...policeman that pulled me over even said that he could understand if I didn't think it should be a 30). I was lucky enough to recieve a FPN for 3 points and £60, I thought that would be the end of that...

...However, due to my girlfriend having been recently diagnosed with depression, and various other things happening that have occupied my mind, I failed to comprehend the fact I had to hand my license in within 7 days. I was stopped on the 19th Jan, and due to not being paid until 28th Jan (and as a result, not really being able to afford the £60), I didn't hand my license in until the 1st Feb (I mistakenly presumed I had 28 days to pay the fine, AND hand over my license).

I then went to work at a police station (I am an electrician), and handed my license and FPN in at the desk (I knew I was working there the day before, so got the documents ready). The woman who took my license, and filled in a form, said that she would have to report me for failing to produce. However, unlike what I have read on a few other cases, I was not asked to fill in anything explaining why I had failed to produce?
She then went on to say that 9 times out of 10, failing to produce would go un-noticed as long as I paid the fine in time. However, I believe that because I was doing 51 in a 30, I am beyond the usual limits for the FPN, so this will get overturned when I recieve the summons?

What I really what to know is, will the failing to produce (although I have actually produced the documents, just not within 7 days) charge have any implications on the speeding charge? From what I can understand, 51 is at the lower end of the scale considered for a ban.