Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Slip road speeding?
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
jonnylager
Hi

i have just received a leter from the TVP regarding a speeding offence on the A34 northbound, on this day the only time i was on the A34 northbound was coming off the slip road at Botley to join the A34. I was doing 59mph in a 50 but was matching the speed of the carraigeway and concentrating on safely joining. I can recall the van being on a bridge over the carraigeway as i saw it when i came off the carraigeway.

the van would have captured the back of my car going away from it, at the end of the slip road the speed changes to national speed limit.

is there anything i can do about it or just live with the fine and 3 points, i have been driving for 18 years on a clean record and have never broken the limit untill this time.
mrh3369
Reply to the NIP and you will probably be offered a speed awareness course if you are eligible and thats no points but costs a bit more and will take up half a day.
Jlc
QUOTE (jonnylager @ Fri, 3 Feb 2012 - 09:09) *
I was doing 59mph in a 50 but was matching the speed of the carraigeway and concentrating on safely joining.

Whilst annoying and probably true it doesn't form a defence.

It's probably still worth asking for photo's to identify the driver just to confirm it's a clean ping etc. Remember not to mention 'evidence' and reply to the s172 form.

have never broken the limit untill this time.

Never, ever? I did 31 in 30 once. wink.gif

Logician
It is difficult to follow your description of your movements, but that is probably not important. If you accept that you were doing the speed alleged there is probably little that can usefully be done, in any event you must identify yourself as the driver. The likely outcome is an offer of a course, provided you have not done one in the last three years.
odom