Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 97mph on M1
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
PopUp
Dear Helpful People,

Just been pulled over for the above offence. Apparently I am just 2mph over a fixed penalty notice. Background, if helpful, was that there was another motorist goading me (tailgating, following me lane to lane, undertaking) for several miles before I finally decided to just put my foot down.

I have no active points at present, but have had a total of 12 points in the past spread over 2004 -2008.

I am a hospital doctor and use my car for commuting to different rotations around the region in which I work, so obviously quite worried about losing my licence.

Questions:

1. Should I seek legal advice and representation (despite being a doctor, I'm hardly wealthy enough for this unless absolutely necessary)
2. I thought there was a +/-2 mph error on these machines, would it help to point this out to the magistrate?
3. Should I even bother going to the hearing?
4. How likely am I to escape with a few points and a fine?

Thanks eversomuch.
jobo
no a ban is VERY unlikely at worse 6 points

there is no point getting a solicitor if your going guilty

there is no point arguing the speed down from 97 to 95 as , once at court the penalty will be much the same anyway

worth going if it quite local and you can get time off
BaggieBoy
You won't be getting a NIP, the next thing you will get is a summons, could be up to 6 months before it turns up. You are probably looking at 6 points and a large fine, below 100 a ban is unlikely. The speed will be deemed to be accurate unless you can prove otherwise, which is tough to do.
PopUp
Thank you very much for taking the time to reply.
Logician