Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Magistrates fine, have I made a mistake?
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
neil_s
Good morning everyone. Apologies for my ignorance and/or silly questions in the following passage, this was my first court experience so I'm not used to this sort of thing!

I was caught speeding on the M1 in late 2010 and in September 2011 this went to the local Magistrates' court. I pled guilty by post and was requested to attend court as they were considering a ban. Thankfully I wasn't banned, but was given points and a £210 fine. The letter I was given said to pay the fine "forthwith", and as I left the courtroom (slightly shaken!!!) the usher told me to pay it as soon as possible.

Unfortunately I'm a student, and £210 is quite a lot of money for me, so "as soon as possible" was on my next payday, just under three weeks after the hearing. I paid the fine in full on the internet and thought no more of it.

However, when I returned to London (where my car is kept and therefore registered) after a month away studying, I had a pile of backdated letters from the court ordering the fine's immediate payment, and another indicating it had been passed to a bailiff who would be gaining entry by force to obtain their £85 fee. I immediately rang the court and explained the circumstances, and they said there was nothing they could do as it had been passed to the collections agency so was out of their hands. They said I could appeal the "distress warrant", and have called off the bailiffs for 28 days while I arrange for this to happen.