Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Took a while to ID driver - fine+points+costs+surcharge!
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
sparkey186
Hi all - I'm new to this, so please be gentle! I post to see if what's happened is right/to provide a cautionary tale for others - but I'll try and be as succinct as poss.
20/4/11 - received an NIP (1st class) (39 in a 30) for offence on the 12/4/11 (GATSO)
28/4/11 - returned completed NIP stating wasn't sure who the driver was (could have been 1 of 3 people), and assumed that photos would be forthcoming (they weren't)
11/5/11 - received letter stating as I was unable to name driver, case would be forwarded to the court (included NIP final reminder)
14/6/11 - received a summons giving court date of 5/7/11
20/6/11 - wrote to court & police asking for photos
27/6/11 - received photos (was me - dammit)
28/6/11 - plea form etc returned explaining delay in plea - guilty plea (sent rec.del - arrived 29/6/11)
8/7/11 - received notice of fine & collection order : speeding fine £35.00
Victim surcharge £15.00
Costs £60.00
Total amount payable - £110.00! Is this right? I didn't want to admit guilt if it wasn't me(!) but couldn't find out from other 2 drivers straight away due to hols (explained this in letter of the 20th June). But I did get the plea form back before the court date. Are they allowed to put on the surcharge and costs like that?!
The Rookie
Once you get to court they follow the senatncing guidelines, the fine is very low (so I suspect your income is low) and yes the rest is right.

Simon
andy_foster
Presumably you were dual charged (speeding and failing to provide information contrary to s. 172(3) RTA 1988)?
picko
If that is the case you got quite lightly / lucky
Pete D
speeding fine £35.00
Victim surcharge £15.00
Costs £60.00
Are you sure that was not costs 35, fine 60.
What about the 3 points.
Pete D
Gan
Looks like you got off very lightly.