Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Using mobile at red light (scotland)
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
taco
hello folks

just stumbled across this site and a quick read of some posts, looks like a lot of good advice is being given, so...here's my story!

was coming to a set of traffic lights which were just turning red, stopped, i had a very short call to make and was under the impression at the time that because i wasnt actually 'driving' it would be ok. lo and behold, the traffics pull up beside me and i'm off to court.

now, i am paying for a solicitor to defend me as i am a service engineer and need my car for the work i do.
i currently have 9 points, 6 of which will be off in September, any further points will result in a ban, and also me losing my job (which my boss has confirmed in a letter).
i have an exceptional hardship case due on the 14th of July, and these are my circumstances:

Living with fiancee in mortgaged 1 bedroom flat. we have a 5 month old son, my fiancee is currently on maternity leave and gets around £400/m.
All bills come out of my account which leaves me with roughly £150/m. my fiancees wage, if she were to return to work full time does not cover all our expenditure. therefore if i lose my job, we're likely to lose our flat, or be under severe financial stress.
as it stands, our small flat is going on the market in 2 days time as we need more space due to our son, again this would obviously be affected.
my lawyers fees are £500 which i cannot afford, but will have to find before the case goes to court, i have no option as i really need help with this.

my lawyer is telling me that it doesnt look good and im almost certain to be looking at a ban as the courts are very tight on the use of mobiles.

can anyone tell me if i should raise certain points which might help, or am i truly f***ed?