Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Letter from a Court Debt retrieval company - never received correspondence
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
vsoundur
Hi guys - I am new to this and never posted on a forum before, but hope I am following suitable etiquette. After reading this thread, my situation is similar to NicktheGreek so I figure it made sense to jump in to this for some advice.

About 10 days ago I received a letter from a Court Debt retrieval company stating that I owed £350.00. (There was no mention of the alleged offence, or date of the offence - presumably they assumed I would be aware of an outstanding fine) Unfortunately for me this was the first letter I had received regarding any fixed penalty fine or anything so it was a big shock. I got in touch with the company to ask for more information regarding what the outstanding debt was for. 5 days later I received a reply saying that it was from West Yorkshire Police and I had been caught speeding on the 8th FEBRUARY 2011. (Plus they had jacked the fine up to £550.00 to add insult to injury during this 5 days!!)

My background - I lived in Leeds for 12 months, and my car was registered to my address there. I moved out in JANUARY 2011, therefore any speeding offence on the 8th FEBRUARY 2011 would have been sent to my Leeds address. This is why I never received any notification. My V5 document was changed on the 15th FEBRUARY 2011 to my new address which is where I am now. HOWEVER the odd thing is, is that I still have not received any correspondence to my new current address where the car is now registered...the one and only letter that I have received from the debt company went to my friends address where I stayed at the beginning of the year until I moved into my new place. I know you can leave a 'footprint' wherever you live, but am unsure as to how a debt company has linked me to my friends address, when my car or myself was never linked to it?!