Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: M8 Glasgow 50MPH
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
chrisash32
Hi Everyone,
I have been driving for over 7 years and never had any points etc. However last night i was heading to Scotland for the bank holiday weekend and got stopped just off the M8 for allegedly speeding.

The officer stated that i was overtaking a car at 72MPH and that the M8 is 50MPH.
He then went on to show me a laser looking device with an LCD on the back showing the following information.
Speed: -72
Distance: 160

He said that the - meant i was travelling away / in front of them at the time the device was used.

He told me that the machine was calibrated before they went on shift etc, they issued me a ticket and was on their way.

My question is, how does a hand held laser device like this work when a vehicle is in motion??

I was issued with a 28day notice to send off for 3 points and a fine.

Thanks
BaggieBoy
I would suspect that their vehicle was parked up at time, do you know differently?
chrisash32
QUOTE (BaggieBoy @ Fri, 29 Apr 2011 - 12:31) *
I would suspect that their vehicle was parked up at time, do you know differently?

they didn't state they were parked up and it allegedly happened near J13, which is a motorway on slip, so they couldn't have been overhead on the slip bridge.
They did state they were behind me but didn't clarify if that was stationary or in motion. Even if off on the hard shoulder, they would have been hard pressed to fire a gun across 5 lanes of motorway with the traffic that was on it at the time.
Pete D
The device is only approved to be used when stationary. -72 means you were moving away from the gun and 160 will be the distance at which you were pinged. A road side stop if the most difficult to defend. Do you question the speed. Prior to Junction 13 is a police parking area and I suspect they were parked up there and pinged you from the rear. Pete D
chrisash32