Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Conditional FPN for "Illegal" number plates
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
Frz1
This is my first post so I’m sorry if it’s a little long.
During the summer I was driving to Edinburgh airport in my mum’s car, I was pulled over at the entrance to the airport car park by two officers who didn’t have a car and were dong “routine checks”. They checked my car, insurance and MOT and first thought I had no insurance, however I was a named driver and they then confirmed this. Then only one officer was with me and the other was dealing with another car. The officer with me then started nit picking and started checking tyres and other parts. Eventually he came up to me and said I had committed 2 offences, 1 driving with illegal front plates, 2 driving with illegal rear plates. I didn’t understand this as the number plates were perfectly fine, all spacing, characters and sizes were correct and the only thing was that they were in 3D font. I told him it was perfectly legal but he dismissed me. I argued for a bit and then just took it as the passengers were getting late for a flight and thought I would be able to deal with it later. Once I had seen off the passengers I went back but the same officers were gone so I spoke to 2 other officers who told me to write to the address on the ticket.