Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: failing to stop at red light and failing to provide info
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
Rosie64
Hi
I have been using my friends car for several months. He gets a NIP and responds giving my details. I receive NIP but cannot complete as my Mother and I share my daughters school run using this vehicle so am unable to identify driver. It is a spontaneous arrangement and depends largely if she stays at my house or not. I return uncompleted form with a covering letter explaining this (within time frame). Asked Police to contact me and provide me with any description of person driving to assist me. Heard nothing. Assumed it had gone away then received summons for the two above offences. Have sent letter to Criminal Justice Unit, CPS and Court with copies of letters I had sent to the Policeman that iniitiated prosecution. Criminal Justice Unit called me to tell me there was no description of the person driving the vehicle and that the witness was a Council Employee. Went on to say I should have received some information that I hadn't and that their records showed two letters to me had been returned to them.

I havent entered a plea and am going to court on 21st July and during my last telephone call to the CJU they told me someone would ring me before the court date, which I will chase up later today as I should have been contacted by the Policeman that initiating the case.

I was intending to ask the Magistrate how I should plea as I cannot tell them who was driving and neither of us remember jumping a red light.

I am beginning to think that it might be malicious as I don't leave home until 8.10 and the offence allegedly took place at 8.10

What should I do?
Any assistance would really be appreciated as I am scared stiff

Rosie
Top Cat
Just stating that you share a vehicle and so you don't know is not going to be nearly enough.