Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Nip+Car registered as transfered to motor trade
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
mofoevo
Hi guys,

I've come unstuck with getting a Nip through the post.

When I first bought my car nearly a year ago I put it in my name using the motor trade slip. (I'm a trader) Hence it has not added any owners to it and the DVLA records show it as being Transfered to trade.
This then should leave the previous owner with no come back in terms of fines etc.
Taken from a vehicle registration document to show how it looks:

(Name and address of motor trader)
Title or business: entered my first name
Surname:entered my surname
Address:Entered

Both signed to state transfered.

My problem started when I received a NIP for an offence dated 16/02/05
I didn't receve it until 09/03/05 which is out of the 14 day limit.

I wrote back with the standard notice served out of time letter to which I have just received this:

A notice of intended prosecution is sent out within 14 days to the last known recorded keeper of a vehicle. The information is abtained by electronic link with the DVLA.

The notice allows 28 days for the recipient to respond, and all subsequent Notices carry the same time allowances for a reply. It is only the first noticfication that must be posted out within 14 days of the offence. All copies of such Notices are signed and dated on dispatch.

If you have received a Notice outside of the initial 14 days from the offence one of the following circumstance will most certainly have applied:

A)Registered with holding insurance company (Hire vehicles) Nope!

B)Registered to a lease holding company. Nope!

C)Vehicle is registered directly to a business (Driver then nominated by company) Possibly but it still came to me out of time and I've nominated nobody.

All others apply in no way whatsoever.

Lastly it states: