Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Issued with Further Steps notice - ? Out of time
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
sabarcas
Dear all ,

I'm new to this so apologies if asking same old questions - I have read as much as possible on this forum but would like to clarify a few points.

My question is when is it out of time to give a statutory declaration regarding a 'further steps notice'.

Due to reasons working away from my registered address and post forwarding arrangements failed (the people in the property did not forward mail as requested) I became aware of the 'further steps notice' in Nov 09 - fine of 625£.

I contacted fines office at the time ie Nov 09 and was advised to pay and told it was likely a parking ticket or speeding fine but if i paid no further action would be taken. I paid it, thinking it was just a very expensive parking fine which I managed to stop getting worse.

I recently up dated my driving licence which shows and MS90 and 6 points and fine. At this point (8-3-10) I contacted the fines office who told me, and I quote, " to submit a STATUTORY DECLARATION, and the court is obliged to set aside the origional conviction".

From reading on this forum, a stat dec can only be 21 days from when I was first alerted to the problem . However, as I did not have any indication that it was anything other than a parking fine, I left it once paid as I had very pressing personal matters (though £600 is very pressing !).

It was only since I found it was for a speeding fine and endorsement that the implications of what has happened has become evident. Therefore does the 21 days start from Nov 09 or from 8-3-10, when I found it was related to a driving / speeding conviction.