Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Zig zags Edinburgh
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
stk1uk
I'm a taxi driver in Edinburgh and had customer on board going to the Grassmarket area of town. On route he asked to stop at a cash machine. The one in question is next to a zebra crossing. On a approach I noticed someone was going to cross. I came to to a stop while motioning them to cross over. I had pulled in a little bit but was not parked. As the person crossed the customer jumped out the car and went to the bank. I told him I would get him further up the street. As I was about to pull away about 4 cars overtook me and then Lothian and Borders finest pulled up on the opposite side of the road on the pedestrian crossing and asked me why I had stopped. I told them there was someone crossing and I had to stop and that the guy needed a bank. They lectured me for around 1 minute whilst I apologised. By this time the guy from the bank had jumped back in and we were about to continue the journey when they told me to park up the street where I was issued with a £60 ticket and 3points. I never park on zig zags but I had to stop as someone was crossing. The whole process from the guy going to the bank must have taken a minute tops. They spent longer lecturing me than guy had taken at the bank whilst sitting on the crossing themselves. I feel a little hard done by and any advice would be grateful
Kensington
Hi,