Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Friend caught speeding in my car
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
neverforget
Hi guys newbie here so be gentle

Basically were photographers and drive all over the country and we were doing a long run from portsmouth to north wales going via south wales and we take the driving in turns. My friend was driving as we went over the M4 Severn Bridge and ticket says M4 toll plaza so i presume its as you leave the bridge its for 77mph as my friend thought i was 70mph but turns out its 50mph.

Now he is worried as he has no insurance for my car ( which i was unaware off ) now will they pursue him for this also of will it end at the points and fine?

Kind Regards

Matt
bluegolfboy
This really depends on whether you have a Conditional Offer of Fixed Penalty or a court summons. If a CoFP then it may be possible simply to send of the licence and have the 3 points put on it and be relieved of £60 as they might not check the insurance side.
neverforget
QUOTE (bluegolfboy @ Tue, 30 Jun 2009 - 15:37) *
This really depends on whether you have a Conditional Offer of Fixed Penalty or a court summons. If a CoFP then it may be possible simply to send of the licence and have the 3 points put on it and be relieved of £60 as they might not check the insurance side.

Thankyou for your swift reply

I know it was very bad of him to drive without insurance and he knows how not amuzed i am for the very reasons you have stated.

I went to court afew years ago for speeding and they never asked for proof of insurance has things changed since?

Matt
jobo
you should be fine as ling as you play ball with them
bluegolfboy
Agreed... Play ball and you should be fine. If not then technically both of you can be found guilty of offences. That's why Britain will never change. The authorities focus on one little area (speeding) and forget about more important things. It's greed.