Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Totting up ban help please.
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
Carld
Hi, I'm new here and I could use some advice please. I drive for a living and have reached 12 points on my licence. I had 3 points in December 2006 for doing something like 38 in a 30 and got caught by a camera, totally bang to rights I know. Now in the last 12 months I've recieved a further 9, 3 for doing 36 in a 30, 3 for doing 39 in a 30 and 3 for using my mobile phone, I need to add that I was using the phone while the car was stationary at traffic lights and I didnt actually think I'd broke the law.

Anyway, I have sent off my licence with the 60.00 conditional offer fine and I'd like to know what happens next? I understand I will need to go to court but how does it all work if they cash the cheque I've sent them?

Also, what happens if I commit another offence while my licence is away following the original offence?

I hope someone can help.

Thanks.
vw driver
I need to add that I was using the phone while the car was stationary at traffic lights and I didnt actually think I'd broke the law

If your phone was in a cradle you may have a defence - but this is done and dusted (see Thread on mobile phone useage.)

On the NIP did it ask how many points you had? If so (and you put 9) they should have noticed that you could not be dealt with via a FPN, instead issuing a court summons. They might yet notice this and your payment and license should be returned to you and they will issue of a summons instead. If they fail to notice this, and issue 3 points (taking you to 12) then return your license, you should be legally able to drive as no disqualification was issued by a court.

If they do not notify of court action 6 months from the offence date, you should be in the clear as they can not lay the information with the court to have you banned.