Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 8 parking tickets at once
FightBack Forums > Queries > Council Parking Tickets & Clamping and Decriminalised Notices
tingling
Hi

I'm a student in Oxford and park my car in the free car park in Port Meadow (a public park). Over the Easter holidays, the council must have changed it and now they charge you for parking. When I came back (on Saturday the 18th of April) it was dark, and I didn't notice the signs. I left my car there and only checked on it today - I had 8 parking tickets for 100£ each (with 50% reduced penalty within 14 days)!! The first one is from Monday 20th April, so 14 days from then is this coming Monday (although since its a bank holiday the form says the time's extended til Tuesday). What can I do?? I'm a student and really can't afford to pay 400+£ in fines! There is a number to call on the back of the paper, but its for 'personal enquiries only', and it says that all appeals will be made in paper. Should I phone them? Will they freeze the reduced penalty period if i appeal? Do I have any grounds for appeal (eg the sign wasn't well lit??)

Any help would be really appreciated!

Thanks
Neil B
Ok, several things.

Firstly, the deadline for the first one is today.

We will need to see the PCNs (in full). If they are all identical and for same contravention then one will do.

Also pictures of the poorly lit sign?

Can you confirm that all of the PCNs are for different days?

--

With regard to an apparent recent change. You will need to check various aspects of the 'Off-street Parking Places Order for the car park. It may well be flawed.

peodude
Is it definitely a council ticket, with the council at the top of the PCN?

Those figures sound like it might be a PPC.
oliverp
Are you saying you had 8 parking tickets on your windscreen at once or did they come through the post?
oliverp
QUOTE (Glacier2 @ Sun, 3 May 2009 - 12:59) *

No sign of that car park on this list though: