Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: NIP in the wrong name/unsure who drove
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
slow-as-a-slug
Guys/gals,

I am a newbie here. didnt know such a fantastic bunch of people existed, untill recently.
OK to my prob now.

Point A
1) My work mate and I were driving the company van on the night of the offence.
2) We are not sure who drove the van at the point of the offence. We both took turns to drive. it was a twleve hour night shift.
we visited many sites. some times driving on our own. sometimes both in the car.
3) the photo shows one person at the wheel. other seat seems empty, again its not clear. both my mate and me are of the same skin clour, body shape and built. it is immpossible to know who drove the Van at that time from the pics.
Point B
1) My company supplied my name to the police.
2) But the police have got my Surname totally wrong. All other details, including the first name address are correct.
3) The wizzard says i need to do NOTHING! as the NIP is not addressed to me and to sombody else.

I need your advice on points A and B.

Cheers
jobo
why did the company name you in pref to your mate
slow-as-a-slug
QUOTE (jobo @ Sat, 24 Jan 2009 - 03:31) *
why did the company name you in pref to your mate

MY Mate was going on hols. was taking over from him form that night.
But we both worked on that night. (handing over). That prompted the companyto name me.

This is how my name is mis-spelt.
This is only an example. not the real name.

If my real name was, MEDHUKAR The NIP is addressed to MCDHULAR
jobo
the name is a side issue if you send it back, they will contact the company get the right name and send it again

what is very important is could you be considered as the keeper of the van, ie you had control of who drove

this changes your legal status dramatically