Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Liability for company car insurance excess?
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
Shiner50
I am a car salesman and as such have always had full use of company car with full insurance which is naturally supplied by my employer. Over the last year there have been incidents/accidents (within the company) which have necessitated in their insurance company apparently raising the excess on the policy to £10,000 (so I have been informed).
Unfortunately, this week as I left my house to take the children to school whilst enroute to work, I turned onto the junction and applied brakes (at approx 15mph) to stop behind the parked bus. Problem being that under the fallen snow was sheet ice and on applying the brakes, even at this speed, the wheels simply locked, no braking at all and the car 'gracefully' and continously, despite my efforts to brake/steer, slid towards the bus and finally hit it.
Although the speed was approx 15mph the car requires a new front bumper, wind and headlamp. The bill currently stands at £1,800 and my employer has informed me that due to their excess it is not their intention to make an insurance claim, therefore I am liable for cost of repair and will be deducted from my salary.
I could understand this if I was driving without due care and attention or recklessly. But with my young children in the car, at 15mph and the brakes not engaging when applied due to the first day of heavy ice, even the bus driver told me that he had witnessed several similar instances for the preceding 2 hours of his shift. I find it incredulous that as a company car driver, with insurance etc supplied by my employer that they can deduct any damage from my salary.
Does anyone know of the legitimacy, or not, of this scenario? Any advise will be gratefully received as I am unable to gain any definitive answer from anywhere or anyone. Thankyou.
axeman
QUOTE (Shiner50 @ Sat, 10 Jan 2009 - 23:48) *