Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Clamped This Morning
FightBack Forums > Queries > Council Tickets & Clamping and Decriminalised Notices
dchbrown
Hi All,

This is my first time on here so be gentle biggrin.gif

My reason for posting is that I found my car clamped this morning. I live in a Flat that has private parking for residents around it, as is always the case there isnt enough marked spaces for everyone so we part where we can trying not to block anything in the process. So when i came home last night from work there was no where left to park so i put the car onto a section of pavement between marked bays, I've used this space on and off since I moved here about 8 months ago and never had a problem with it.

So I was quite surprised this morning to find a clamp on my car! I immediately contacted the company involved, whom I assumed was Guardian Parking Management as they issue our parking permits but there was no introduction when the phone was answered so I dont know who exactly i spoke to! I needed the car and they wouldnt hear anything about me having not parked anywhere I shouldnt have so I provided my debit card details (dont have credit cards otherwise i would have used one) and after 30 odd minutes a van turned up and removed the clamp and handed me an invoice.

The man who released my car said he didnt know why I was clamped, and when he saw I had a valid visitors permit displayed said "I would appeal this if I was you mate". I told him that I intended to! He then went on to say that a reason for me being clamped hadnt been recorded, so wrote "Unauthorised Parking" on the invoice, he did venture that it might have been because I was on the pavement though. He did mention that the parking rules for our site had gotten changed recently and we would have been informed about it, I replied that we hadnt heard anything of the sort!