Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Matt_1974 (35 in a 30 Help Needed)
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
Pages: 1, 2
Matt_1974
Hi Guys,
I have been reading your posts with great interest icon_eek.gif and feel i have a situation which has not been covered before.

As a company car driver i was caught speeding on 18 June 2004 and the NIP was sent to the registered keeper dated 5 July 2004,it arrived at the company offices on 7 July 2004.

They completed section 2 of the NIP and returned it immediately to Lancashire Constabulary.

On 10 July 2004,as expected,i received my copy of the NIP which was dated 08 July 2004. I am fully aware that the police have extra time to track me down since it was a company car,however my question to you is this:
The original NIP served on the registered keeper was served 17 days after the alleged offence,therefore,under section 1(1)c(ii) of the RTRA 1998 is it possible to have the NIP quashed?

I am considering writing to the CC but should i actually fill in the NIP i have been sent,or simply write and make them aware that the NIP has 'time expired',i know there is an obligation for me to fill in the NIP within 28 days.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Matt
firefly
Hi Matt,

You most certainly have a case if you are sure that the NIP was sent out to the registered keeper on the date you state. By my calculations, the police sent out the NIP 17 days after the alleged offence.

i) You need to be sure that the NIP that was sent out to your company was the "first in the chain". Are you 100% sure that there is no lease company involved?
ii) If not, you would then have to have evidence (a copy of the original NIP) to show that the NIP was served incorrectly and, as such, is non-enforcable.

Is all of the above correct to the best of your knowledge?
Matt_1974
FF,

I am pretty sure that that the NIP dated 5 July is the first on e in the chain,i certainly hope so.