Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Can I Take Council To Small Claims Court?
FightBack Forums > Queries > Council Parking Tickets & Clamping and Decriminalised Notices
dylanp
Hi guys,

I have today won an appeal with PATAS against being towed away by Hackney Counil.
(I was parked on a badly worn yellow line - issued with a PCN and towed away shortly after)

Patas rulled that the line was in such a state to be deemed unenforcable and directed council to cancel PCN and refund PCN + tow.

Now, given that at the time of being towed away I had a client's server in the car (I'm an IT consultant) - which I had to deliver and install that evening i suffered all sorts of financial losses - namely:
- taxi home to get the log book (as can't retrieve car from pound without a V5)
- taxi to the car pound (in the middle of nowhere!)
- most importanly - missed project deadline as I wasted 4 hours to get the car back - had to refund client £800 +vat and still ended up losing the client!
- total quantifiable loss = approx £1000 (not to mention emotional stress)

Given that they unlawfully removed my car - am I able to take the council to small claims court and recover my losses?

Has anyone done this in the past? Is there any legal technicality that would prevent me from doing this?

Thanks,
Dylan
Neil B
Short answer is , sorry I don't know. Makes sense to me but only from a common sense viewpoint. The eagles on here will answer at some point.

Sorry if that's not much help but I have a question for you.

Apologies for detracting from your question but i am helping with another Hackey towing case at the mo. I assume when you say "middle of nowhere" you mean the pound at Excel?

Can you please tell me what paperwork you were given when you collected your car?

Thanks in advance.

-
bama
you may want to find out how many other cases PATAS has ruled on over those same lines. If the council already knew the line was crap....

(I am not an eagle)
Teufel