Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: late NIP
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
liuba
Hi all.
This is the situation I work part time as a HGV driver, one of the companies I work for yesterday called me and said they had been issued with a notice to identify the driver of a vehicle from the police and it was me on the day in question.
I am assuming this would be a NIP.
The company are the registered keeper of the vehicle and have been since the vehicle was new 2006.
They receive NIP on the 6th Feb 2008 the offence was 28 Sept 2007 how do I stand with the 14 day rule?.
Or can they come at me from another angle?.
Any input would be welcome.
John
Catweazle
What was the date on the NIP? Assuming 4 Feb get them to return the NIP on 29 Feb naming you as driver. It would be with the scammers on Monday 3 March and even if they turn it round same day and send a NIP out to you, you won't have to reply until 28 March - one day after the 6 month time-out for the speeding offence smile.gif
mob
If the company reply at the last minute naming you, then you reply at the last minute naming yourself it will have all timed out anyway.

That might be an easier way of dealing with it than arguing about the 14 day rule. The scammers are bound to claim the DVLA records where wrong or give some other excuse.
nemo
QUOTE (Catweazle @ Fri, 8 Feb 2008 - 13:32) *
What was the date on the NIP? Assuming 4 Feb get them to return the NIP on 29 Feb naming you as driver.

Not wishing to appear pedantic, but s.172 RTA 1988 requires that the information is supplied within 28 days of service of the request - the date of service being the date upon which the request was received (06.02.2008, in this case)..

Regardless, taking full advantage of the permitted reponse times to bring about a natural 'timeout' is clearly the way forward..

Liuba - can you persuade the company to delay their nomination of you until the start of March ?
liuba