Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: FPN
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
Danlp6
Hi there, newbie here.

Tonight i received a FPN for 'exceeding the 40mph limit'

Now, he wasnt behind me, he was behind another car which he also FPN'd, and he disnt say what speed i was doing, but claimed i was racing(which i wasnt!)

I already have 3 points and ive only got a month until i get a 12 point licence.

Do i have anything i can do?
Danlp6
well ive spoken to a couple of people, my dad is an ex traffic officer, he says they can do me for exceeding the limit by estimation(there were 2 coppers) but, their view of me would have been obstructed by the other car, therefore not really being able to judge my speed. also if i take it to court then plead guilty, i should get a 3 week ban, a fine and some points, but not have to retake my test? I need my car for work and my boss has said he will testify saying i need the car as i can be onsite anywhere in the UK.

I asked when i was put in the back if he had the calibration certificates for the vehicle(it is a panda car) he replied he would get it done before the end of his shift(now, where would he manage to get it done at 10pm on a friday night?)

Ive also been told by a few people that a Panda car cant nick me for speeding what so ever? Can someone please outline the law in this respect for me.

Also, the points on my licence, are they from the time of conviction or date of the offence?

what will be the best option. I cant afford to loose my licence.

Thanks
xantia
Danlp6.

The Police vehicle would have to be fitted with a calibrated speedometer & a certificate duly issued.