Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 6 Month rule
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
jhefin
Hi Im a newbie. On january the 6th i received a NIP for dangerous and careless driving. In march a police officer rang to ask me to come to the station, but because of snow I could not make it. After infroming the police officer in the morning he said he understood and said that it would be best if i rang him at 10pm in the night later that week, when i rang i was told he was not on duty, having been told when he was on duty next i rang and was again told that he was not on duty, as a result i left a message with the station informing that i had rang twice but could not get an answer. After this i have received no communication from him since, as a result I am wondering whether the six month rule applies in this case, i have been told that it does apply, but i would like some clarification.
jhefin
So does anybody know whether if i will get away with it, if there is no court date set within 6 months
jimmy ferrari
jhefin, i think the same rules apply, in that the papers have to be laid with the court within 6 months. Normally they will do that just before, after hassling you for as long as possible. Were you stopped and read your rights? Why have you received this NIP? A little more info on the specifics of your case may help to get a response.
jhefin
Right on to the problem , I was driving along a dual carriageway, at about 1:45 in the afternoon (5th january). As I knew that eventually I would need to get into the left hand lane, I decided to indicate left, having done this the car in front of me in the left decided to brake quickly therefore with cars behind me I decided to pull back out to the right hand lane, by now I had pulled back out in front of the car that was in front of me when I was in the Right hand lane,