Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: civil claims and costs
FightBack Forums > Queries > Council Parking Tickets & Clamping and Decriminalised Notices
Teufel
if i make a claim for restitution i can claim the directly associated costs
and for interest

what about the cost of the court process or representation ?

what if i lose - can costs be awarded against me ?
could they be '000s if they instruct a barrister ?

anyone have a clear grasp of the law or experience ?

(sorry but i am an academic lawyer not a practioner)
Tony-Medusa
if i make a claim for restitution i can claim the directly associated costs
and for interest
It appears so YES

what about the cost of the court process or representation ?

You can get going for as little as £30, simple look at the reaction as you go, and make an application notice (£80 ish) to vary the amount later on.

what if i lose - can costs be awarded against me ?
could they be '000s if they instruct a barrister ?
Yes, but unlikely in my experience a private claim is regarded sympathetically, in ten cases I have NOT ONE had costs awarded against me at all.

anyone have a clear grasp of the law or experience ?

Can't speak for myself. Lawyers will want to be paid to open their mouths

(sorry but i am an academic lawyer not a practioner)

You're more than good enough for me......... I am not either BUT
with ten clear wins, and having defeated barristers, and the CPS, and had the judges re-considering, in very focussed areas it makes up for all their knowledge in areas that aren't relevant for one case in particular, it's all asymmetry of information, once you see they have a knowledge advantage, then revise and research, and correct the asymmetry, then its an even playing field, except you have passion they have only a fee, and fees distort truth.

I have doubts that a lawer will answer, (unless pro bono) as I said they will want payment, AND it's not good for business??????