Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Van Speed Limits? Flashed on the A1 in Vivaro
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
DaveBrow
Hi all apologies if in the wrong place etc.

I've just had a NIP saying i was doing 71 on the A1 NB Great Ponton. (Mobile Van ) Now although i've been driving a van for 10 years i never knew my speed was restricted to 60mph on Dual Carriageways.

What are my options ???

I am currently fighting 2 more NIP (35 in 30mph zone) (37 in 30mph zone) I drive over 50.000 miles a year and even with being careful it seams impossible to avoid these bastards .

I also have 9 points on my licence already. I accepted these without a fight like an idiot and am now paying for it .

Thanks in advance chaps. sad.gif
andy_foster
Sorry mate, the crystal ball's on the blink again.

Please visit the READ ME FIRST section (Click Here), answer all the questions in the NIP Wizard, and then post the Wizard's output back here to enable us to help you.

As you have 3 ongoing cases - all of which you need to win, you should start a separate thread for each of the other 2 in the Speeding & Judicial Process forum.
Peter_D
Speed Limits – a van over 2.0t and under 3.5t GVW has a national single lane speed limit of 50mph (compared to 60mph for a car) and a duel carriageway limit of 60mph (compared to 70mph for a car). This means that most small vans will have the same limits as a car, however the Ford Connect and VW Caddy both exceed 2.0t GVW and are therefore required to follow the lower speed limits. So what weight is your van. It sound like a load of PACE and Pray. Regards Peter
andy_foster
Car speed limits only apply to car derived vans with a Maximum Authorised Mass of under 2000kg. The Vivaro fails on both counts.
DaveBrow