Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Bus lane fine on a motorbike
FightBack Forums > Queries > Council Parking Tickets & Clamping and Decriminalised Notices
aby
Hello all,

First time visitor so apologies if I'm not posting this in the correct section.

I recently started riding a motorbike to commute into work. Embarrassingly I've managed to rack up 5 bus lane fines before I received the first letter through the post.

I was mistakenly under the impression/was fed misinformation that I could ride in all bus lanes, which obviously isn't the case. I thought the cycle sign meant any 2 wheeled vehicle.

They all arrived later than the 'date of notice' from which the 14 day discount period starts, the first one arrived 15 days late, and the others .. some arrived 1-3 days or more.

My plan was to apologize and basically beg for forgiveness :/ I got these fines 2-3 weeks after I'd passed my CBT and all 5 occurred on the same bus lane. Do you think I could appeal to their better nature if I send a picture of my certificate proving I'm new to the road?

Also wondering what to do with the first one because I don't want to pay £130 if I lose the appeal. It's bad enough that I may need to pay 5! Do I wait for notice to owner or appeal anyway and add that I received it very late?

And finally, is there any grounds of appeal regarding the date of notice issue?

Thanks in advance

Pictures of fine 1 - page 1:
page 2:
PASTMYBEST
For each of the PCN's list the contravention date and the date of notice
stamfordman
location is known to us - had several here in the past year or so, including some from bikers.

Have a look for a video on council site for one.

DastardlyDick