Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Signs - 7 Feet High
FightBack Forums > Queries > Private Parking Tickets & Clamping
MatchlessG80
I am still a newbie, but would like some advice on signs. I have complained to a few places about signs for parking where the 'terms and conditions' signs are placed about 7 feet high and often written in very small font. As far as I can tell there is no legislation governing signs, but surely the basic principal is that they should be readable - especially if one is supposed to be entering into a contact based on the terms and conditions displayed. Signs at this height and in small font are not readable as far as I can tell - I am average height and have fairly good eyesight and I cannot read them. Tesco (one of the users of this design of signs) say that their signs are 'legal' whatever that means and that the hight is determined by a 'risk assessment' - presumably the risk of being sued if someone bangs their head on them. I should say that is query does not relate to any outstanding 'invoice' from Tesco regarding parking, but they are just an example of the use of this kind of sign. I would rather not use places who use private parking companies, but if I have to at least I would like to know what sort of contract I am entering into with them. If they base the design on council parking signs then this would seem inappropriate as council signs normally just say 'No Parking' or 'No parking between 8am and 6pm- so not a lot of information needed, unlike the reams of information needed on private notices.
ostell
The "Contract" is created by being able to read the sign, sorted out in a court case some time ago. If you can't read the sign then there can be no contract and therefore they cannot invoice you for a breach of the alleged contract.
MatchlessG80