Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Received Fixed Penalty Offer - what next???
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
sootyridesagain
A few weeks ago i recieved a Notice of Intended Prosecution (NIP) as i was caught by a mobile speed camera doing 87mph on a dual carriageway where the speed limit was 70. At this point i joined this forum. In response to the NIP i posted (via recorded delivery) a PACE statement admitting that i was the driver.

Within a couple of days i then received a "Conditional Offer of a Fixed Penalty" offering me 3 points & a £60 fine.

What do i do next? I am on a limited budget so cannot afford massive legal fees. On the other hand i drive for a living & already have 6 points, another 3 will put me within one more offence of being banned (again!).

Please could some advise on my best course of action. If i decide to fight this do i stand a reasonable chance of getting away with it or not?!!
nemo
To continue the fight, you would have to ignore the COFP and any reminders. In due course, you may receive a summons for the offence(s) of excess speed and / or failure to supply driver details. If / when this happens, scan the contents of the summons bundle, edit to remove identifiable information and post the images into this thread. The bundle can be reviewed and (free wink.gif ) advice offered, accordingly.

In the meantime, there could be issues with the evidence gathering process to date which may be apparent if you could provide answers to the questions listed below:

QUOTE ("Read This First")
1. The name of the Constabulary:
2. Date of the offence:
3. Date of the NIP:
4. Date you received the NIP:
5. Location of offence (exact location as it appears on the NIP: important):
6. Was the NIP addressed to you?:
7. Was the NIP sent by first class post, second class or recorded delivery?: