Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Mitigating Circumstances for Speeding?
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
newbee
I've recently received a NIP thru the post for doing 40 in a 30 limit.

I'm thinking of completing the form as the keeper and driver. Is the next stage that a court date is set with the option for me to attend?

I was then thinking of attending court and pleading guilty but asking for mitigation, my points being:

1. This was at midnight and very few cars on road, 3 lanes wide each side, therefore 40 miles an hour whilst absolutely speeding was not a dangerously high speed.
2. There was a camera some 500 yards earlier that I had not been flashed by, so was travelling under 30 at that moment.
3. There was a bus in the inside lane pulling out, so I was using overtaking manoevre temporarily.
4. I have been driving for 20 years and never been convicted for speeding before.
5. I have driven high performance cars for past 6 years, but exercised restraint evidenced by my clean licence.
6. My car, being a Porcshe has exceptionally good brakes enabling me to stop in a short time and space should the need arise.
7. I admit to the speed, and offer to pay the fine, but request no points as this would blemish my long term record and likely affect my already expensive insurance.

What are the chances of the magistrates being reasonable and just fining me, without points?
chadders
I'm thinking of completing the form as the keeper and driver. Is the next stage that a court date is set with the option for me to attend?
No - AFAIK they will send you a Conditional Offer Fixed Penalty (COFP), whereby you reply with £60 and your licence (for 3 points) for doing 40mph in a 30mph. You may decline the COFP and then go to court.

1. This was at midnight and very few cars on road, 3 lanes wide each side, therefore 40 miles an hour whilst absolutely speeding was not a dangerously high speed.