Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New Driver - caught doing 42mph in 30mph zone
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
Marie27
Hi,

I have been driving for a little under two years. On 16.11.16 I was caught by the police using a speed gun doing 42mph in a 30mph zone. I was stopped at the side of the road and got a bit of a telling off by the policeman, given a bit of paper and told I may be offered the choice of the speed awareness course and no points on my licence, or I might not and may receive points automatically. Not that it's a defence but I genuinely thought it was a 40mph limit but clearly I was wrong.

The policeman said if I had been travelling at 1mph more than I actually was, then I wouldn't be offered the course due to the amount of excess speed I was doing (or something like that). But he did say he couldn't promise I would be offered the course as I was right on the threshold of being able to be offered it.

I know a new driver will get their licence revoked if they accumulate 6 or more points in the first two years after passing their test. If I didn't get offered the course will the most points I receive only be 3? I'm very worried I will lose my licence and my job as a result 😣

Thanks
fedup2
It will be no more than 3 points.
Marie27
Are you sure?
andy_foster
No he just made a wild guess.
Marie27
There's no need for sarcasm thank you
Marie27
I've been so incredibly stressed that I'm not going to be able to be offered this course or that I will get 6+ points on my licence due to this (meaning I will lose my licence and my job). I just want to know what will happen. When do you think I should hear about it?
southpaw82
You've been told - three points at worst.
Marie27
Is there some kind of points system I'm unaware of? How do you know it should only be 3 points?
southpaw82
42 in a 30 will normally result in a course, which are offered in the range of 110% of the limit + 9mph.