Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: NIP - SAME PLACE TWICE IN ONE YEAR
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
smurphy
Hi All, firstly a great site and everyones debates/information is very usefull.

I thought I'd come to this forum to see if I have a viable case against a recent NIP issued.

I have been driving for 13 yrs and in that time I have never had a speeding conviction nor any penalty points on my licence. Last year I got caught doing 37 in a 30 zone. It was a dual carriageway I wasn't driving wrecklessly, and the road was just off a main motorway, going any slower and there would have been serious congestion. Anyway I received the NIP signed it sent it off and paid my fine and received 3 penalty points, I was aggrieved but like most I took the punishment.

Fast forward 10 months later and last Sunday on the exact same spot the exact same road I was caught doing 38mph in the same 30mph zone. Now I know most of you would think I should have learnt my lesson the first time but this is an absolute joke, and my reasons for this are :

1. Their were no cars in any near distance in front of behind me.
2. There were no pedesterians in sight
3. At no stage was I driving wrecklessly or without due care or attention going any slower and I would stop!!

After receiving the NIP form I actually went back down to the same stretch of road and noticed the following.
The sign for the 30mph speed limit was on a lamp post but was really small, there is no way you would see this in the distance. I stood on the side of the road for half an hr and in that time witnessed 18 cars getting flashed and I can honestly say none were driving in an unsafe manner.

I am totally aggrieved that the law abiding citizen is the easy target to get money off but more to the point increase my penaly points to 6 points and now I will have to pay more in insurance. People who don't have any insurance or MOT get off more lightly!!