Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 57 in 40 limit - PACE still valid?
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
indigosky
Hi All,

Just received NIP.

1. Suffolk
2. Date of the offence: Sunday, 09/04/06
3. Date of the NIP: 18/04/06
4. Date you received the NIP:19/04/06
5. Location: A14, BARHAM, roadworks, eastbound
6. Was the NIP addressed to you?: Yes
7. First class post
8. Registered Keeper: Yes
9. How many current points do you have? : 0
10. Driving through roadworks, single lane restriction, on the Sunday before during the day with screaming toddler in back (teething and unwell), distracted by noise, nowhere to pull over to ministrate to child.

My question is: what is my best course of action?

Will I HAVE to go to court as and it would be difficult for me to do so.

Will it be in my interests to do so?

What kind of info would be taken into account to reduce the fine/points?

For instance: I am a teacher and need my car to get to work; I have to pick up my toddler every night from the childminder; my monthly income after outgoings is negligible.

Is there any point in trying to dispute the 1 mile an hour over the 26 mph limit which has taken me into the upper penalty bracket?

Will trying to fight the case in court just cost me more money than if I accept it and pay whatever fine comes my way?

Is PACE relevant in this case? (Or even at all after the court cases surrounding it appear to have thrown it out as a defence?)

Help please someone...I don't have the time or money to fight for "truth and justice for all" I just want to find out how I can reduce the potential damage and expense when I have not a lot of time available.
firefly
Hi there.

It depends on how much you value having a clean licence. Many (myself included) are of the opinion that it's better to fight when you're on no points than to fight once you're on 9.